Time for the weight loss journey.

I’ve recently graduated university and after spending three years away from home, eating and drinking what I want, I’ve piled on the pounds and gone up 2 dress sizes since sixth form.

Now I’ve moved back home with the parents, I’ve taken a hard look at myself and decided that I’m not happy with how I look and I want to be the size I was back in school, where I was most comfortable with myself.

Image

Everyone knows that the university life for some people is hazardous. As you’re not living with your parents anymore and you receive masses of free money to spend; buying alcohol, take-aways and club entry’s become the norm and slowly, the pounds become planted on your body and your weight is creeping up to the next milestone whether you become either completely oblivious to that fact or you leave it be for a while.

With the ones that eat and drink what they like and don’t put any fat on their bodies, I am completely and utterly jealous of you. With me, its easy to put the pounds on, but harder to get them off.

And of course, over the three years, I have put on quite a lot of weight, as you don;t want to be the one not to get involved in nights out downing sambuca shots or nights in with food watching The X Factor or Strictly Come Dancing.

You may say “Why didn’t you join a gym?” and to that question, I have no answer apart from the obvious choice of having no money to spend £40 a month on a gym membership. I had rent and bills to pay every month, with the added night out and in’s money sandwiched between it. If the gym I worked at every Tuesday evening in my third year would have allowed me the privilege of using their facilities, then i would have used them. But alas, I was not allowed to use them, due to some unknown reason, which was deemed highly unfair on us employees.

But now I’m back in the family home, constantly on the search for employment but even if I am fed up of getting no replies off companies offering me interviews, I am sorting one part of my life out, and that is by joining Weight Watchers and swimming every week.

I joined back in July, after coming back from my Graduate’s holiday to Turkey with my university friends, and I knew I wasn’t happy – that I needed to do something to loose the university weight. After researching what Weight Watchers was about after my mother’s friend told me about it, I instantly joined up and found my nearest meeting to go to.

Although I was really nervous about starting the weight lose journey, my leader, June and the ladies that go to my meetings every Wednesday are so welcoming that I was completely at ease joining in with the meetings every week and tracking my food and weight every week.

The horrible part of a Wednesday evening is stepping on the scales to see how much you’ve lost or gained, and its the part I dread the most. But then everyone is in the same boat as me at the meetings and some weeks are good and others not so much, but I know that if one week is bad, then they have all been there and are motivational in encouraging me not to give up. And believe me, the past two weeks have been bad weeks, but I am back on track to reach my goal.

Weight Watchers isn’t like other diet plans. With Weight Watchers its all about eating what you want but limiting the portion sizes. The food is converted into points and depending on how much you weigh, it determines how many daily points you are allowed. At the moment, I am allowed 28 points with 49 weekly points (If you go over the 28, you count into the 49 then). The lowest points you get to is 26 and I’m hoping I’m not too far off those daily points.

So far I have lost 8 pounds in 10 weeks. Although it may not seem like much, it is hard for me to loose weight as I have Polycystic Ovary Syndrome, which makes it hard for me to loose weigh and easy for me to gain, but I am proud of my success right now. With some more extra hard work, I know I will be able to meet my goal, whether it takes months or over a year, I know that in the end, it will all be worth it, because I will be happier and healthier in myself and the three years I spent overweight will be used as motivation to continue keeping the weight off.

Are any of you on the Weight Watchers plan? What do you think of it? I’d love to find people from across the globe on this plan and see how it differs, if it does, from the UK plan.

 

Leave a Reply

